Heading South

Big news. Miss BirthandBloom is moving to North Carolina!

It’s a long way from Brooklyn, but I’m ready. More often than not, I find myself thinking, “… I’m so not going to miss this.” No, I”m not going to miss hauling my groceries home by foot or waiting in massive, cranky lines everywhere or dealing with stinky people on the sweltering Summer subways or auctioning off my organs to pay my rent each month.

You know what I’m really going to miss about living in NYC?

You. The birth community and culture of this city: the mamas, midwives, activists, midwives-to-be, bloggers, and doulas who are so damn committed to making birth better for New York families. I’ve learned that this is a powerful community that reaches a lot of folks and across a lot of differences.

This community has moved me; I know so much more from being a part of it. In just the past year, I’ve attended 16 normal births, taken pre-requisite courses and exams necessary to enter nursing school, began writing for this blog and twitter, read books upon books about midwifery, applied to said nursing schools, taken action for the Midwifery Modernization Act, become certified in CPR and Neonatal Resuscitation…did I mention that I also have a job and a personal life, and finished up a Masters degree this year?

I’m closer than ever to becoming the midwife I’ve considered becoming for a long time. Because of this community, I have a foundation of experience supporting normal birth and know more about what being a midwife requires (experience that is harder to find than you think!), and have learned about how I can continue to deepen my work. I am grateful for that.

And a little sad. Yesterday was my last day on call, and I don’t know how soon I’ll get to attend births again. The NYC experience I most regret leaving behind is my gig at our local Birth Center assisting the midwives there. Seasoned midwives, Brooklyn families of all sorts, badass birth assistant colleagues, and little babes at all hours of night and day? It’s bliss. I worked hard there and discovered that, even though I still have a lot to learn, I do have the grit to do this work. I’m grateful for that, too.

I believe that there are many, many births in my future. I know that there are so many others out there working to empower families and normal birth, and am hopeful that at least some of them I meet in my new home share my values for reproductive and social justice.

Birth workers in North Carolina, I can’t wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

